New Zealand eTA for Business

At the moment, citizens of a number of countries are able to travel to New Zealand on business without applying for a visa for different periods depending on their nationality.

However, it is mandatory for travellers from visa-waiver countries to have an eTA in order to visit the country for business purposes, starting on October 1st. Eligible citizens are able to obtain an electronic travel authorization through a simple online application and receive an approved document via email, without the need to apply at an embassy or consulate.

The New Zealand eTA is a multiple entry travel authorization which allows a total stay of 90 days in the country with each entry, and is valid for a total of 2 years from the date of issue. Those not eligible to apply for the eTA are required to obtain a business visitor visa for New Zealand in order to visit the country to conduct business activities. Applicants are required to provide proof of sufficient funds to cover the duration of their stay, or that they have the financial support of their employer.

Citizens of Australia are not required to obtain an eTA to travel to New Zealand on business, although permanent residents of Australia are, regardless of their nationality.

Both the eTA and the business visa for New Zealand allow the holder to visit the country for up to 3 months for the following activities:

  • To sell goods and services;
  • To buy New Zealand goods and services;
  • To carry out an official trade mission recognised by the New Zealand government;
  • To undertake business consultations or negotiations with authorised representatives of an overseas company, body or person about the set-up, expansion or wind-up of a business in New Zealand, or conducting business in the country;
  • Non visa-waiver citizens who wish to spend more than 3 months in the country for business activities, or undertake salaried employment, will be required to apply for a New Zealand work visa.

    New Zealand Transit Visa

    International travellers from transit visa-waiver countries, that are passing through Auckland International Airport on their way to another country are not required to apply for a visa. They are, however, required to apply for a New Zealand eTA for transit if they are visiting from October 1st 2019 onwards.

    – All European Union citizens:

    Austria Belgium Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Germany Greece Hungary Ireland Italy Latvia Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Netherlands Poland Portugal Romania Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden United Kingdom

    – Other Countries:

    Andorra Argentina Bahrain Brazil Brunei Canada Chile Hong Kong Iceland Israel Japan Kuwait Liechtenstein Macau Malaysia Mauritius Mexico Monaco Norway Oman Qatar San Marino Saudi Arabia Seychelles Singapore Republic of South Korea Switzerland Taiwan United Arab Emirates United States Uruguay Vatican City

    Furthermore, New Zealand has a different visa-waiver agreement, specifically for transit visas, with a different set of countries. The list of nations and territories not required to apply for an NZ visa for transit purposes is detailed below.

    – List of Transit Visa-Waiver Countries:

    Individuals carrying passports from one of the following countries are included in New Zealand’s transit waiver agreement:

    Bahamas Bermuda Bolivia Colombia Costa Rica Ecuador Federated States of Micronesia Indonesia Kiribati Nauru Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Republic of Marshall Islands Samoa Solomon Islands Thailand Tonga Tuvalu Vanuatu Venezuela